Heaven

4 Jun

Annie:  How do we get up to Heaven? 

Me:  Do you mean do we drive a car or ride a boat—like how do we get up to Heaven?

Annie:  Yeah, like does someone drive us there when we die?

Me:  Well, what part of you goes to Heaven?

Annie:  Your soul.

Me:  Right, so our bodies remain here on Earth and our souls go to Heaven.

Annie:  Ok, so how do our souls get to Heaven?

Me:  That is a good question.  I’m not sure that we know the answer for sure.  Maybe our guardian angels come and take us.  I don’t know.  What do you think?

Jonah:  I don’t know, but I think Heaven is going to be so fun.  Won’t you be so happy for me when I go?

Me:  Oh buddy, so happy for you.  Though, I’d be sad because I would miss you like crazy, but so happy for you.

Jonah:  Yeah, it will be good.

So, yeah, that was the abridged version of our conversation this morning at breakfast.  Makes me curious what dinner might bring.

2 Responses to “Heaven”

  1. Nanni June 5, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Tears of love.

  2. Katie June 5, 2012 at 2:43 am #

    beautiful, heartbreaking, and amazing all rolled into one.

    Eddie told me a couple nights ago that he was so sad he couldn’t visit Louis (our cat who died in october at the age of almost 18) who lives with his Papa and Jesus. Then he asked when we would go. Such big questions…yet, so simple to him.

    Sigh.

Leave a Reply

