10 Years

28 Jun

It’s been 10 years since this happened:

Number114

Our wedding day—it was seriously one of the best days of my life.  When I think of that day, it brings my heart, my mind, my soul to a happy place.  A place of pure joy and hope.

The morning started with my bridesmaids and I enjoying an amazing breakfast at my parents’ house, and then we headed off to the salon to get all pampered up.  Once the oh-so curly up-dos (be gentle, it was 10 years ago, remember) were done, we headed to the St. Francis de Sales Catholic Church to get dressed and ready for pictures.

Number94

                              Number96

The moment came when it was time for my dad to finally see his little girl all dressed up and ready to get married.  Being his only daughter, this was an emotional day for all of us.  Whenever my dad is stressed or working through something, he cleans or does some major house project.  Let’s just say an hour before he was expected at the church, he was painting their front porch.  I’m pretty sure he was doing some serious letting go of his little girl with each paint stroke.

NumberSix

Of course, he made me cry and consequently messed up my freshly done make up.  Thanks, dad!

Number125

After pulling it together, it was time to see Jason.  We chose to do the seeing each other before the wedding course, as our wedding took place on a Friday evening and we needed to get pictures done before the reception so that our guests weren’t eating dinner at 10PM.  I was so very excited.  He always says that he was overcome with happy.  He was kind of lost for words.  What do you think?

NumberEight

My heart was skipping beats and I know his was, too.  Once we composed our giddy little selves, it was time for pictures with the wedding party and family.  Here are just a few of my favorites.

Number19   Number44Number78    Number23  Number104

Despite the wedding taking place in one of the ugliest Catholic Churches, the ceremony was amazing.  We were blessed to have our favorite priest travel to Jason and I’s hometown and celebrate the Mass for us.  When Jason and I re-watch the vhs (c’mon it was TEN years ago, ok?), we always laugh at how tired I looked (because seriously, what girl can sleep before her wedding day?) and also how completely giddy faced we were.  So happy and in love.

Number58Number59Number60Number61Number62

It is our firm belief that marriages are meant to be forever.  We vowed to that on our wedding day, and I tell you, with every fiber in our beings, we still mean and believe in forever.

And with those vows, we took the opportunity to boggie on down at a super fun reception.

Number69Number71Number79Number80Number82

Yes, the last 10 years have had so much good and our fair share of bad.  From moving out of Michigan, to building our own house and starting careers to miscarriages and moving back to Michigan, having not so awesome jobs, to really awesome jobs, to the beautiful three children we have been blessed with, and personal issues that have left us too raw for words—yes, we’ve made it to this first major milestone in our marriage and I DO believe this is just the beginning.

My heart still skips beats when Jason and I have that quiet time together—that time of carefree timelessness.  And, I’m so thankful I have forever to spend with him.

2 Responses to “10 Years”

  1. Cortney June 28, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Congratulations on 10 years! That is an awesome accomplishment in today’s society. Here’s to many, many more!

  2. Katie June 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I LOVE it! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

