Four

8 Jul

With most kids and most birthdays, I’d say, “Where has the time gone?”  But with Jonah, it is different.  Sometimes I feel like we’ve been through so much with him that it is hard to believe he is only four.  Either way, today was a special day for him, and we celebrated accordingly. 

Even though he went to a baseball game last night with Jason and Annie and didn’t get home until 11PM, he was still up at the crack of down.  At 6:55, I woke up to him leaning by my side of the bed, staring at me in the face.  So tired…so early!  It took every ounce of my being to open my eyes and dry-mouth wisper to him, “Happy Birthday.”  He giggled and then made a funny face because I’m sure my breath smelled terrible.

I tried to coax him to lay down on the couch for a little while, but that was futile, so he  crawled into bed for some birthday snuggles from Jason and I.  Jonah loves the idea of snuggling, but is incapable of actually staying still and snuggling in.  He rolled around and giggled.  He was just so! excited! it was his BIRTHDAY! 

With a grumbling tummy, he was eager to get up and have us get breakfast going.  He chose Teff, blueberries, bananas, and coconut milk (I know, every kids typical breakfast, right?). 

We have a tradition in our house that during breakfast, we sit together as a family and watch the video montage that Jason put together for that child’s first birthday.  It is always so sweet to watch the kids ohhh and ahhh over how little they were and how much they have grown.  We usually give a brief account of their birth story.  Jonah’s story always includes the fact that I had no idea he was going to come 4 weeks early.  When he decided to make his entrance into the world, he did it fast and furiously, so much so that on the way to the hospital, Jason got pulled over and the terd of a police officer made me take an ambulance to the hospital.  Jonah arrived maybe 30 minutes after we got there—I didn’t even have time to change into the hospital garb.  That night was totally surreal.  As with most things with Jonah, it still leaves me scratching my head and thinking, “really?”

After breakfast, it was present time!  This is the first year where I feel like Jonah has really gotten excited about presents.  We went with the t-ball theme, getting him a bat, tee, and mitt.  He was eager to give them a try with daddy-o (as Jonah calls him).  They were outside playing by 9AM.

055 060 073

The rest of the morning was spent playing outside, while I worked inside to cook up a yummy birthday dinner.  The only family who was able to make it were those that live in town, so we partied down with gluten-free pizza, salad, vanilla cupcakes with chocolate frosting, and chocolate coconut ice cream.  The kid was in Heaven.  He chose the menu and was over the moon happy about such treats.  This type of food doesn’t normally fit with his strict diet, but a kid has to live a little, am I right?

082

After dinner, the cousins ran around playing with squirt guns.  There were lots of laughs, screams, and of course they thought it was hilarious to spray the adults.  I so love watching them play with their cousins–makes my heart happy that they get along so well.

The evening ended with gifts—Jonah loved his Leap Frog books, clothes, and the microphone that can record him singing! OMGee…he was excited about that microphone.  Anyone who knows Jonah knows of his love of singing—like he does it all day long…when he is happy, when he is mad, when he is sleepy, and really loud when he is running around like a crazy four year old.  Now we get to listen to that singing recorded.  Over and over and over again.  Aren’t we lucky? 

097   103

Once everyone left and he was snuggling down for bed, he was full of hugs and recounted the highlights of his day: cupcakes, ice cream and squirting poppi (my dad) with the water gun.  It was a simple birthday and his love tank is very full right now.  As is ours. 

Happy Birthday, my sweet Jonah bear.

One Response to “Four”

  1. Katie July 8, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Happy birthday, Jonah! What a great day!

Leave a Reply

