Hope in the Risen Lord

18 Jul

I’ve been guilty lately of having a heavy heart.  I’ll spare you the details (in fact I just deleted 5 paragraphs worth of them) because really the specifics don’t matter.   But, this does.

After a terribly insomniatic night of “sleep,” I needed to get up and take this mess of crap that kept playing over and over in my head to prayer—conversations from the day prior that had left me in a raw tizzy.  This morning was not my usual walk, I mean it was a full out, power walking like a crazy lady kind of WALK.  I had things to work out, damn it, and my treadmill knew it.

As usual, I began the walk by praying the Rosary.  The first decade on Wednesdays is the Resurrection of the Lord and as I said those words, the Resurrection of the Lord, I was struck with a tired, weepy, DUH! sort of revelation:  Jesus rose from the dead.  I mean COME ON!  That is kind of a huge deal.  He said He would and He did.  He is GOD; He can fix all of this.  HE can make it right. 

In fact He tells us, “Come to me, all ye who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest” Matthew 11:28.  This burden, I have to, in fact I really want to, let it go.  And so I place it at the foot of the cross with expectant faith.  I trust that He will fix this.  I don’t know how and sure don’t know when, but I have hope.

3 Responses to “Hope in the Risen Lord”

  1. Maria July 18, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    I needed to hear that today! It’s easy to forget that sometimes. Thanks Amanda 🙂

  2. Terri July 19, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Amanda, What a beautiful picture you have painted with us laying down all our burdens at the foot of the cross and waiting in expectant faith and with hope. God is good all the time. He loves us so much. He is always there waiting for us to turn it over to Him. Thanks for the reminder that I needed.

  3. Katie July 20, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    so so so sooooo many times i find myself lugging around a HUGE load for like EVER. And the realization comes all at once. give. it. to. God.

    so freeing.

    hugs.

Leave a Reply

