Gratitude

22 Oct

My children …. tonight we laughed so hard at dinner that I almost peed myself because James was forcing out the highest pitched toots.  Sounds ridiculous to those with more manners than we apparently have, but I don’t care.  He giggled (and pushed) so hard, I thought he was going to pass out. 

We watched each of the kids’ first birthday montages and my heart melted over and over again at the beautiful babies they were and how much our lives have changed because of each of them.

We snuggled down and read stories and when I was rocking James, he requested over and over (as he always does), “Rock-a-baby” and when I put him in his crib, he begged for just one more “huuuuug!”  Of course, I couldn’t resist.

My husband … I just feel like I am one of those lucky ones who found that person who can complete my soul.  I could spill out a mushy love letter here, but sometimes those secrets you know in your heart that don’t need to be shared…yeah, he is one of those.  I am just so grateful for him.

This weekend I spent 15 hours in training for the next level of the catechesis program and I got to do it with my dearest of friends.  I sit and experience these classes and I’m continually brought to tears because my heart is so full and my cup is so overflowing and I am just so humbled that God chose me to be a part of this program.  I am blessed beyond measure with an amazing formation teacher.  I’ve been given a profound understanding of my faith, my children’s development, and the o-so-many areas that I am lacking and in need of God’s grace.  Yet, I know that it is through His love for me that I will be given the grace to improve. 

I was just struck in one of those I can’t even put it to words moments (over and over) this weekend in which God’s love for me…for you…for all of humanity was so powerfully and beautifully written on my heart. 

I’m soaking this in, savoring the beauty and thanking God for all of his goodness.

One Response to “Gratitude”

  1. Jason October 22, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    I definitely feel the same way. It was a blessed weekend and I am experiencing the very same feeling of gratitude. Family is such an amazing thing, and I’m so grateful for mine, especially my amazing wife.

Leave a Reply

