Unplugged

13 Jan

You may have noticed the new look. Why the change? Because this site was free, the other wasn’t and I have no time or desire to put into making my blog a big deal. So, I decided to go for the cheap. Please pardon the random advertisements…it is the price for a free site to host the blog. Whatever.


I’m not a techy person. I don’t have a fancy phone—in fact, I have a Tracfone for emergencies only. Cool, huh? Jason does have a nice phone for work, but we choose to not pay for the texting plan. We only have one computer that is ours. We have an iPad that he was gifted from work. We don’t pay for television services or monthly streaming services. For the most part, we live a pretty tech-free life in our home, which is pretty surprising considering Jason’s job is to make sure that the hospital that he works for is up on the latest and greatest in all things technology. It is also surprising because, well, we live in America. Enough said.

Friday night Jason and I were out on a date (yeah!) and sitting across the room from us was a family. While they waited for the food, every last one of them was messing around on their phone. No one was talking to each other. I pointed it out to Jason and he sarcastically added, “I wonder if they are all texting each other.”

Sad, right? I mean, what has happened to families sitting around the table enjoying each other’s company? Our family’s favorite time of the day is dinner—when we can gather together and talk about our day. So much good can come from breaking bread together.

It got me thinking and wondering about how I truly hope to do things differently in our house. I never ever want my children or husband to think that something that I am doing on the computer is more important than them. This blog speaks to this very well. I’m guilty of a handful of the items on her list.

To be honest, I kind of have a thing for social media.

That darn iPad and its Facebook, Twitter, and Gmail apps. They get me. Too often.

I know, I’m a terrible person.

“Hi, my name is Amanda and I am kind of in love with social media.”

There, I said it.

As a homeschooling mom, our days revolve around schooling. Like I’ve said before, we weave it in and out of our day. The kids’ take breaks just like “school kids” and what that usually means is that I plant my booty on the couch for a minute and social media away my time. On the surface, this doesn’t seem like a bad thing. It is nice to take a mental break and check in with friends and family via the social media front. The problem is, it is far too easy to get sucked into debates on Facebook and blog posts and recipe hunting, etc.

I’m ashamed to admit how often those apps are used throughout the day. Kid’s going pee, quick check. Kids taking a sip of water, quick check. Kids playing, quick check. Kids taking a test, quick check. Kids breathing, quick check. Kids looking the other way, quick check. You get the idea. I hate to admit how often those quick checks happen.

It is not heinous amount of hours, but it takes too much time out of my day. And so, I’ve made a resolution to not check social media, including my email until school is done for the day. I’ve only done it for one day and geez…it was hard! I made it until lunch, and then I threw in a “quick check.”

Apparently, habits are hard to break.

11 Responses to “Unplugged”

  1. jasonvenema January 13, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Love the new look!

  2. Fr. David Hudgins January 13, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    I’d forgotten just how cool you guys are!

    • Amanda January 14, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

      Forgot how cool we are–do you *remember* us? We are kind of a big deal. 🙂 Just kidding! Seriously, when can we bribe you to come to our neck of the woods. I promise awesomeness!

  3. Miriam January 13, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    How funny … I made the same resolution today!! Didn’t touch my tablet all day. It was harder than I like to admit but I felt more fully present to my hubby and kids than I have in awhile! Glad to know I’m not alone. Let’s hold each other accountable!

    • Amanda January 14, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      I’m trying…it is hard. There were a few “quick checks” today, but better overall. I tell you…silly habits!

  4. designhermomma January 14, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    Yeah, I struggle with the same issues. It’s really taken effort for me to figure out a schedule that works. Right now, I check my email/FB/twitter first thing in the morning. Then, I can get back on during nap, and then again after 8pm when the kids are in bed. It’s still a ton of time, but I feel like it’s minimum when the kids are up. (also, I know it’s 9:30 am, I actually have a babysitter right now and I’m suppose to be writing my Disney posts for the week, oops!)

    • Amanda January 14, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      I like your layout for when to check in on the social media front. I’m trying to get into a better routine. It is proving more difficult than I’d like it to be! Sigh…

  5. Angela January 14, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    I agree! It’s addicting. Our poor teens these days. They are like the guinea pigs for all of this, and they will suffer.

    • Amanda January 14, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

      I agree! I hope to be the change so that my kids don’t fall into the same silly habits.

  6. Moriah January 14, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    Great post, Mrs. Venema! As a teenager, I struggle with this everyday. I don’t have facebook or twitter, but I do have email and a blog. And Pinterest, which is the worst for me. It’s hard for me in the mornings to get up and read my Bible first, as opposed to checking all my daily “websites.” I definitely appreciated your post! Thank you!

    • Amanda January 14, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      Moriah–good for you for being so self-aware as a teen. You always impress us! 🙂 But, as you know, you will never regret taking the time to spend in prayer over idle internet wanderings. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

