And this was Lent, huh?

24 Mar

Today we enter into Holy Week.  My favorite week of the year.  The week, the days, the Masses that remind of us of the Pascal Mystery.  Christ has died, Christ has risen, Christ will come again.  Easter is the holiest and highest feast of the Liturgical year and, as a Catholic, I’ve been given the opportunity that is Lent to prepare my heart, mind, body, and soul for this great celebration.  I’ve written before about my Lenten plans, the biggest of which in my mind was to slow down and take more time to pray.

Ahem…

It’s a good thing that I ended that post with:

“So there is the plan.  As always, it is written in pencil and I’m giving the eraser to God, asking Him to show me how and where He wants our family to grow in holiness.”

That eraser, friends, was Gi-stinking-normous! 

Here’s why…

We listed our house on ForSaleByOwner.com.

Actually we did this years ago.  But when I got pregnant with James, was put on bed rest, had a premiee baby, etc., we raised the asking price to something unreasonable knowing we wouldn’t get any activity on it.  We were hopeful that someday we could get back to our dream of moving out of a subdivision and getting some land.

Jason and I began talking and praying about our desire to move again.  We felt a very strong pull from God to begin this process again.  The desire was very strongly placed in our hearts.   And so we responded.

We logged back onto our ForSaleByOwner account and within a week of dropping the price, we had a serious buyer come through.  Then the next week, we had 4 showings in three days.  We had realtors calling us to ask if they could show the home.  Apparently there is a shortage of houses in our town, especially in this price range.  It was crazy.  In fact, we daily get inquires about the house.

Just a few days after the stretch of showings, we had an offer on the table.  We countered; they accepted.  The inspection went extremely well (they didn’t ask us to fix anything because the findings were so minimal).  And tomorrow is the appraisal.  We are praying that goes well, too.

Seriously! 

In Matthew 7:7, we read“Ask, and it shall be given you: seek, and you shall find: knock, and it shall be opened to you.”  Repeatedly, we feel as if we knocked and God not only opened the door, but He kicked our indecisive behinds through it. 

It has been amazing.

Once we started getting serious lookers through the house and especially after we got the offer, our life began to revolve around house hunting.  It has been a blur of seeing homes, mortgage applications, inspections, appraisals, number crunching, etc.  I cannot even begin to count the number of nights we got to bed hours after our usual bedtime. 

We are utterly and completely whipped. 

And oh my gosh, if I have to run the vacuum one more time, I think I might just cry.  Keeping a beautifully clean house with three kids, while homeschooling is a recipe for insanity. 

But, wow…God has been doing such awesome and amazing things with this process.  We have been praying for years and asking for the patience to be at peace with where we were living.  And in an instant (it kind of felt like that), Jason and I both felt like it was time to move on.  The pieces have been falling into place in the most remarkable ways.

We put an offer in on a home that we absolutely love.  It was accepted without even a counter offer. 

So, yeah, really…Lent being over doesn’t even feel like that is possible.  But, as always, I’m approaching Holy Week with the realization that God knows how, when, and in what ways my heart needs to be ever more focused on Him and His will.  A million things could still go “wrong,” but we are doing our best to remain prayerful that God has this under control.  I’m doing my best to rest in His peace that He is working out some beautiful plans for our family. 

I am grateful.  I am so very tired.  I need to go pack. 

Please pray for us.

Leave a Reply

