the blessing of 3

2 Dec

To my sweet baby James,

I know, I know, you are certainly not a baby anymore, and I admit, I’m in denial that today is really your third birthday.  Say it isn’t so because as the cliché goes, it seems like you were just born yesterday.  Yet, at the same time, it seems like you have been a part of our family forever.  You belong with us, buddy, that is for sure. 

2013-11-24 08.06.21

Some say that the terrible twos are nothing compared to the terrible threes, but with you, well, I’m (cautiously) optimistic that you have found your independence and do not need to throw a fit to prove it anymore.  Most times when you are told, “no” you simply hunch your entire body over (not just your shoulders—no, that wouldn’t be dramatic enough) and sigh a big ole’ sigh and say, “Ohhhhh, but I want to.”  And then you walk away. 

And your daddy and I giggle.  Because, seriously.

2013-09-28 11.34.45

Our biggest battle with you is getting you to eat.  You are golden with whatever for breakfast, but lunch and dinner are another story.  It is not uncommon for you to say, “I just don’t like it.”  And then in a perky voice say, “How about 1 more bite,” to which we respond, “How about you finish what is on your plate?”  This is always followed by the abovementioned full body shrug, nose wrinkle, lips puckered and “Ohhhh, I don’t want to.”  Pizza, pasta, tacos…no thank you.  Yet, raw veggies—carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, cauliflower, yes. every. single. day.  Strange.  Oh and if you could eat a hotdog every single lunch and dinner, that’d be cool, too.

IMAG0609_BURST002

You have grown accustomed to our school days and you, as of late, are happy to busy yourself with puzzles for hours.  It’s your latest obsession for sure and our homeschooling days thank you for your hours of intense puzzle doing.  You also love all things trucks and cars and we made your driving them though the “roads” a reality with your birthday gift.  IMAG0599

Your relationship with your siblings is as unique as the personalities are.  You and Annie have become the best of buds, as you are always eager to play dress up, pretend this or that, and whatever else Annie’s intense imagination congers up.  Today I asked Annie what she loved most about you and her response was “I like that he likes to play with me and dress up and do what I like to do.  He is a cutie and I love that he is my brother.”  Yes, that sums it up nicely.

2013-11-11 18.45.22

The dynamic between you and Jonah is quite brotherly in the wrestling and arguing department.  By now, you are well aware that Jonah hates to wrestle and doesn’t care for loud things.  You, well, you exemplify those two attributes.  So, you two certainly disagree more than you agree, but thank goodness for quiet activities, like puzzles and building train tracks, because this is where the two of you bond.  When asked what he liked to do most with you, Jonah responded, “puzzles.”  Yeah.  So there is that.

IMAG0610_BURST004

When it comes to you and daddy, you absolutely love the chance to wrestle and play chase and get all of your energy out.  You are *always* up for a good tickle torcher session and have come to expect that getting into your jammies at night will involve you getting tickled until you are crying with delight.  Also, because your daddy is the master of nicknames, you find it hilarious to be called, “Geebers, Doodles, Jamsey, Jiblets, or Potato.”  Each of these has a story, but really, would make no sense to anyone else.  With daddy, you are always guaranteed to have a laugh.  2013-10-05 13.58.42

As for me, well, there is something about you that makes my heart melt over and over again.  It is a rare day that I find myself upset with you.  You are just so beautifully you and I love that I have the opportunity to be your momma.  My favorite time of the day with you is when you snuggle into my lap with your blankie and teddy and ask for story after story to be read to you.  You always request snuggles when it is bedtime, but the reality is that you giggle, move around, and end up using me as a jungle gym.  So, not exactly what I would call sweet “down time” with you.  But, in the end, you always squeeze your chunky arms around my neck and say, “I love you momma.  See you in the morning!” 

I am blessed and grateful for you and all of your spunk.  You make my heart happy in a way that only you can and I love you to the moon and back!

Happy third birthday, Geebers.  I love you!

Momma-lou

Leave a Reply

