I can read.

29 Jan

Jonah, that kid.  He is my heart.

He is learning to read—actually, no, he is reading and he is doing such a fantastic job!  My momma (homeschooling) heart is proud of him. 

Today, while Annie was at ballet and we sat in the lounge of the dance studio, he read lesson 97 out of 100 in our reading program.  Three more lessons and he will be done with that book!   (Yes!  That sentence deserves an exclamation point!)  We started it last Spring and since then there have been many days when I wanted to chuck that darn book out the freakin’ window in frustration and cry because he just didn’t get it.  Sounds and letters that he understood and read the day prior would get lost, jumbled, and mixed up.  His poor palms would sweat, tears would form, and he became discouraged.  Inside I was impatient.  Sometimes that impatience boiled over despite digging deep, deep, deep into my soul and he knew momma was as discouraged as he was.

This Fall, his OT suggested he get evaluated for dyslexia and a speech pathologist recommended he have a cognitive assessment done to check for neurological delays.  But, something in my mommy gut told me to wait and let this ride out a bit longer. 

In the meantime, the teacher in me got my research on and I pulled out grad school articles regarding reading development.  I poured over my Montessori language arts manuals, I researched workbooks to further reinforce what he was doing in the reading program.  I landed on this workbook that paired wonderfully with his text. And most importantly, we took many deep breaths and got through what we could each day–even if it meant stopping with a lesson before it was technically done because I sensed he was growing tired and discouraged.  IMAG0677

Then slowly, but also kind of suddenly, one day, it all fell into place and it just seemed to click. It was crazy.  No longer was he sounding out every letter for every word and forgetting the first part of the word by the time he got to the end.  No, c-a-t, was simply ‘cat.’  And it was like that—words became sentences, sentences became paragraphs, and paragraphs became stories.  I shook my head in disbelief.  Not only was he reading, but he was comprehending the stories, too. 

Today, while at the library, I pointed out some easy reader chapter books to him.  He opened one up and smiled a huge smile, and then declared, “Hey, I can read this!  Can I get it?”  He proceeded to read the entire way home:

“Hey mom, there is a new dog in this story.  Biscuit has a new friend.”

“Oh yeah, what’s it’s name?”

“I don’t know.  They haven’t told me yet.”

a few quiet moments later…

“Oh, here it is, Lovely.  Not Hundley like in Curious George, but Lovely.”

“Cool.”

“Oh and here is a new story…they are going to go out to the park…”

…and so on and so on and so on.

By the time I got home and had unloaded our goodies from the errands that we had run, he had come in and finished the chapter book.

“Mom. I finished it already!  All five chapters! That was a good book!  I loved it.”

That is music to my ears.  And so I present to you, Jonah:

Give the little guy a huge high five the next time you see him, or leave a note of ‘good job, buddy,’ because boy, is he pleased with himself.  And so am I.  Because, seriously…

One Response to “I can read.”

  1. Aunti Mi-Mi January 30, 2014 at 1:27 pm #

    Way to go Jonah!! You are reading SO well and now your fun journey into the world of books has begun! You are standing at the castle door of a magical kingdom of stories and we are so excited for you. Nice work buddy!

Leave a Reply

