life verse

11 Jan

Dear friend,

You got me this last week as a gift, a thank you, and certainly as a hefty dose of encouragement.

I still don’t have the words to express what God has been doing in my life this past year, but this picture, this scripture, it says it all—all that God has placed so strongly on my soul. 

Thank you for seeing this in me, honoring it as worthy, and encouraging me to continue down this path. 

As you know, God has shown me a new way and given me a different goal in educating my kids, and that goal?  Is Heaven.  I’ve always said that, but now we are living it and implementing it in a new way.  As a result, this school year has been the most peace-filled we have yet to experience in this homeschooling journey.  And, I am so very grateful.  Every day, we strive to stop and soak in the beauty that He has given us.  We spend our days seeking truth, beauty and goodness, talking, reading (lots and lots of reading), developing our critical thinking skills.  These little people who call me “momma” are showing me every day what it means to be made in His image and likeness and what it feels like to be precious and honored in His eyes.  All because my lens was sharpened, and thus the picture is now refined.

And now I feel that God is stretching me to go further with this quest for that which is lovely, just, true and excellent.  To bring it to others—to extend this invitation to seek God in all that we do.  To recognize that all of His children are little images of HIM walking around, worthy of respect, love and an education that forms all of who they are—the whole person.  In prayer, I find that He is asking me to be the poor, imperfect, uneducated disciple,  and to trust that He has a really big plan in store.  He is stretching me far beyond my comfort zone.  This reality is terrifying, liberating, exciting, and anxiety-ridden all in one crazy bundle of a gigantic act of trust.  But as I continue to take this to prayer, 1 John 4:18 perpetually comes to my mind:

There is no fear in love,
but perfect love drives out fear
because fear has to do with punishment,
and so one who fears is not yet perfect in love.

Fear is not from God.  Love is from our Lord.  And so as I strive to align my will with His, I will do my best to hold on to that perfect love which drives out fear.  To strive to give my heart, mind and soul to that which is true, just, lovely and excellent…because He is asking me to.

Thank you for this gift.  Thank you for your friendship.  My heart smiles every time I walk past this reminder that someone else is cheering me on in this quest.

Peace, friend,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

